Cookies This page uses cookies and similar technologies so that we can provide you with the best user experience and collect user data. Accessing the page without changing your browser settings means cookies will be saved locally on your device. You can always change the settings in your browser options. Zamknij
Sacrum Profanum 2023



The Małopolska Garden of Arts




Katarzyna Głowicka – Farewell River* for two accordions and electroacoustics (2019) 15’ [world premiere]

Egidija Medekšaitė – Sattva for accordion and tape (2018) 19’ [Polish premiere]

Antanas Jasenka – Accordrone for accordion and tape (2018) 13’ [Polish premiere]

Julius Eastman – Evil Nigger (1979) 22’ [arranged by Piotr Peszat for four accordions*] [World premiere]


  • Rafał Łuc – accordion
  • Maciej Frąckiewicz – accordion
  • Katarzyna Głowicka – electroacoustics
  • Piotr Peszat – implementation of the tape

*commissioned by the Sacrum Profanum Festival

Project carried out in cooperation with Bôłt Records.

We are returning to Julius Eastman. After the success of an extensive presentation of his oeuvre in 2017, we will once again hear his interesting compositions, in performances prepared in the wake of a return to his works. We will hear a new version of Evil Nigger – after an enthusiastic reception of the version for three string quartets performed by the Arditti Quartet, we commissioned an arrangement for four accordions. The new arrangement, prepared by Piotr Peszat, will be performed by Maciej Frąckiewicz and Rafał Łuc. Katarzyna Głowicka, a representative of Polish minimalism, residing in the Netherlands, composed a new piece for this duo, on commission by the festival. Her composition will also be socially involved, just like her latest opera Unknown, I Live with You.

Referring directly to the neighbourhood, in the coming years we want to bring the music of Eastern European countries closer to our audiences. After last year’s celebration of the centenary of Polish independence, we want to share this common joy with Lithuania, which celebrated its anniversary alongside us. The programme will feature six concerts presenting the achievements of Lithuanian composers, including Egidija Medekšaitė, Justė Janulytė and Rytis Mažulis, in a diverse way that transcends generational boundaries. This is one of these programmes. In two pieces for solo accordion and tape we will learn the composition language of Egidija Medekšaitė in her Sattva – a slowly developing meditation on the sound of accordion performed by Łuc, and Anastas Jasenka in his Accordrone performed by Frąckiewicz, with title perfectly and accurately describing its character and sound.

We also recommend the HOLY PRESENCE concert, featuring two other compositions by Julius Eastman.


The Małopolska Garden of Arts

Check on map

The Małopolska Garden of Arts is a place, where the cultural life of the Kraków’s young artistic set blossom under a shared roof. Modern ballet, contemporary theatre forms, audio and video arts, concerts, and all and any other artistic pursuits find their home here. The building of MGA introduced new spatial order to the old backyards and ruined buildings in Rajska and...