Cookies This page uses cookies and similar technologies so that we can provide you with the best user experience and collect user data. Accessing the page without changing your browser settings means cookies will be saved locally on your device. You can always change the settings in your browser options. Zamknij
Sacrum Profanum Festiwal

October 2017 Sunday


ICE Kraków Congress Centre: The Theatre Hall


Muzyczka / Solitude of Sounds

cycle: main programme
Add event to my intrests list
Henryk Mikołaj Górecki’s Muzyczki series shows a great improvisation potential, and if this opportunity is taken by skilful interpreters something unique must happen. This time Polish musicians pursuing various aesthetics will take up the theme (Mikołaj Pałosz, Kamil Szuszkiewicz and Kuba Sokołowski) as well as Adrien Lambinet (whose phenomenal play was heard last year at Ictus Ensemble’s concert) under artistic direction of Evan Ziporyn, a clarinettist known to the audience from Bang On A Can All-Stars gigs. They will take the challenge to deal with the oeuvre of the great composer, with respect but without unnecessary devotion. After the intermission, instead of improvisations based on instrumental composition, we will hear Tomasz Stańko’s improvisations to electronic compositions, the classics of the early Polish electronic music repertoire, including Serial, the only Stańko’s piece created at the Experimental Studio of the Polish Radio. It is a composition for a tape and improvised trumpet part. Two other pieces – Nokturn by Eugeniusz Rudnik and Solitude of Sounds by Tomasz Sikorski – will be presented in a similar way. They are purely electronic pieces but the world-renowned trumpeter agreed to improvise to them live. It is a unique concert in which we will hear the master’s early works and a sentimental journey into the futuristic past.


Henryk Mikołaj Górecki – Recitativa i ariosa „Lerchenmusik” op. 53 (1986)
Henryk Mikołaj Górecki – Muzyczka IV „Koncert puzonowy” op. 28 (1970)

Evan Ziporyn – clarinet, artistic director
Adrien Lambinet – trombone
Kamil Szuszkiewicz – trumpet 
Mikołaj Pałosz – cello 
Kuba Sokołowski – piano


Solitude of Sounds
Tomasz Sikorski – Solitude of Sounds (1975)
Tomasz Stańko – Serial I (1985)
Eugeniusz Rudnik – Nokturn (1975)

Tomasz Stańko – trumpet

Concert organised in collaboration with the Adam Mickiewicz Institute
as part of the Polska Music Programme.


ICE Kraków Congress Centre: The Theatre Hall

Check on map

The centre is a modern world class building, meeting the requirements of international congress organisations, as well as the highest acoustic and stage mechanics standards. The building has been designed in such a way as to host various types of congresses, conferences, concerts, theatrical shows, exhibitions and other prestigious cultural and social events. The high standard of the building place it among the most desired and exclusive congress centres in Europe.